Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: PENDING ABATEMENT OF VIOLATIONS

Note: The following inspection has not been indicated as closed. Please be aware that the information shown may change, e.g. violations may be added or deleted. For open cases, in which a citation has been issued, the citation information may not be available for 5 days following receipt by the employer for Federal inspections or for 30 days following receipt by the employer for State inspections.

Inspection: 1421498.015 - Pearson Farm

Inspection Information - Office: Atlanta East

Nr: 1421498.015Report ID: 0418100Open Date: 08/06/2019

Pearson Farm
5575 Zenith Mill Road
Fort Valley, GA 31030
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC:
NAICS: 115114/Postharvest Crop Activities (except Cotton Ginning)
Mailing: 5575 Zenith Mill Road, Fort Valley, GA 31030

Inspection Type:Fat/Cat
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:01/28/2020
Emphasis: N:Amputate, L:ForkliftClose Case:

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident1484206    
Case Status: PENDING ABATEMENT OF VIOLATIONS

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 11 11
Current Violations 7 2 9
Initial Penalty $128,004 $0 $0 $0 $0 $128,004
Current Penalty $66,000 $0 $0 $0 $0 $66,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 5A0001 01/31/2020 03/12/2020 $8,500 $12,145 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002A Serious 19100028 B01 I 01/31/2020 03/12/2020 $12,145 $12,145 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01002B Serious 19100029 B02 01/31/2020 03/12/2020 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01003 Serious 19100120 Q01 01/31/2020 03/12/2020 $12,145 $12,145 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 5. 01004 Serious 19100120 Q06 III 01/31/2020 03/12/2020 $0 $12,145 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01005 Serious 19100147 C04 I 01/31/2020 05/01/2020 $12,145 $12,145 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01006 Serious 19100178 N06 01/31/2020 03/12/2020 $9,000 $13,494 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 01007 Serious 19100212 A01 01/31/2020 03/12/2020 $10,065 $12,145 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 01008A Other 19100219 C04 I 01/31/2020 03/12/2020 $0 $8,675 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01008B Other 19100219 C04 II 01/31/2020 03/12/2020 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 01009A Other 19100219 D01 01/31/2020 03/12/2020 $0 $12,145 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 01009B Other 19100219 E03 I 01/31/2020 03/12/2020 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  13. 01010 Serious 19100219 F03 01/31/2020 03/12/2020 $2,000 $12,145 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 14. 01011 Serious 19100303 B01 01/31/2020 03/12/2020 $0 $8,675 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 118739.015Event: 08/05/2019Employee Is Struck And Killed By Forklift
On August 5, 2019, an employee was working for a farm. The employee was not a native English-speaker. He was greasing the bearings in the front of a chain conveyor. The bearings were situated about 175 millimeters (7.0 inches) above floor level. A coworker was operating a forklift loaded with two stacked fruit bins. The load restricted the operator's visibility. The coworker intended to unload the fruit bins on top of the conveyor. He did not see the employee greasing the bearings. The employee was struck against the metallic structure and the entrance of the conveyor. He sustained severe damage in the back of his head and extensive bleeding. The coroner's report said that he sustained blunt force trauma to his head and torso. He was pronounced dead at the hospital. He had been killed.
Keywords: struck by, head, industrial truck, maintenance, obstructed view, lubricating, ind trk operator, conveyor, struck against, torso, bearing
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1421498.015 Fatality Fracture Machine operators, not specified

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close