Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED
Inspection: 1315071.015 - Hawaii Electric Light Company Inc

Inspection Information - Office: Hawaii

Nr: 1315071.015Report ID: 0951510Open Date: 05/03/2018

Hawaii Electric Light Company Inc
Highway 19 In Paauilo
Paauilo, HI 96776
Union Status: Union
SIC:
NAICS: 221122/Electric Power Distribution
Mailing: P O Box 1027, Hilo, HI 96721

Inspection Type:Fat/Cat
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:07/13/2018
Close Case:08/07/2018

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident1335399    
Case Status: CLOSED

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 4
Current Violations 3 3
Initial Penalty $68,448 $0 $0 $0 $0 $68,448
Current Penalty $34,224 $0 $0 $0 $0 $34,224
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100269 P03 07/17/2018 07/23/2018 $11,408 $11,408 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002A Serious 12-60-2(B)(2)(A)(II) 07/17/2018 07/23/2018 $11,408 $11,408 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01002B Serious 12-60-2(B)(4)(C)(II) 07/17/2018 07/23/2018 $0 $11,408 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01003A Serious 19100269 A02 VII 07/17/2018 07/23/2018 $11,408 $11,408 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01003B Serious 19100269 A02 VI 07/17/2018 07/23/2018 $0 $11,408 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 6. 01004 Serious 12-60-2(B)(3) 07/17/2018 07/23/2018 $0 $11,408 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 106144.015Event: 05/02/2018A Lineman Is Struck And Killed When Derrick Truck Boom Colla
At 10;00 a.m. on May 2, 2018, an employee was pulling high voltage insulated line covers with a tag line as the derrick boom got close to the distribution line 4,160 volts. The employee's coworker lifted an 80 foot long wood transmission replacement pole to an upright position when the boom collapsed and the pole fell, striking the employee. The employee suffered head and body injuries, killing him.
Keywords: struck by, head, collapse, truck boom
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1315071.015 Fatality Concussion Electrical power installers and repairers

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close