Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED
Inspection: 1300195.015 - Stulz Air Technology Systems, Inc

Inspection Information - Office: Maryland Region 4

Nr: 1300195.015Report ID: 0352440Open Date: 03/07/2018

Stulz Air Technology Systems, Inc
1572 Tilco Drive
Frederick, MD 21704
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC:
NAICS: 333415/Air-Conditioning and Warm Air Heating Equipment and Commercial and Industrial Refrigeration Equipment Manufacturing
Mailing: 1572 Tilco Drive, Frederick, MD 21704

Inspection Type:Accident
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:06/29/2018
Emphasis: N:AmputateClose Case:12/18/2018

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident1316400    
Case Status: CLOSED

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 26 8 34
Current Violations 26 8 34
Initial Penalty $82,800 $0 $0 $0 $0 $82,800
Current Penalty $47,600 $0 $0 $0 $0 $47,600
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100138 A 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $2,300 $4,325 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002A Serious 19100147 C05 I 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $2,000 $3,325 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01002B Serious 19100147 C05 II B 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01002C Serious 19100147 F03 I 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01003 Serious 19100147 C06 I 07/10/2018 08/10/2018 $3,800 $4,325 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01004 Serious 19100147 C07 I 07/10/2018 08/10/2018 $2,000 $3,325 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01005A Serious 19100178 A04 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $2,000 $3,325 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 01005B Serious 19100178 A05 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 01005C Serious 19100178 L04 III 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01006A Serious 19100184 D 07/10/2018 08/10/2018 $1,400 $2,375 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 01006B Serious 19100184 I09 III 07/10/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 01007A Serious 19100184 E01 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $1,700 $2,850 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  13. 01007B Serious 19100184 E02 I 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  14. 01007C Serious 19100184 E02 II 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  15. 01007D Serious 19100184 E04 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  16. 01008 Serious 19100212 A01 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $2,000 $3,325 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  17. 01009A Serious 19100212 A03 II 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $2,000 $2,850 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  18. 01009B Serious 19100212 A03 III 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  19. 01010 Serious 19100212 A05 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $1,500 $2,850 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  20. 01011 Serious 19100212 B 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $1,400 $2,375 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  21. 01012 Serious 19100242 B 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $2,900 $3,325 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  22. 01013 Serious 19100252 B02 III 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $3,325 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  23. 01014 Serious 19100254 D09 III 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $2,850 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  24. 01015 Serious 19100303 B01 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $2,000 $3,325 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  25. 01016 Serious 19100303 B02 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $2,900 $3,325 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  26. 01017 Serious 19100303 G02 I 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $2,500 $4,800 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  27. 01018 Serious 19100304 G06 VI C 1 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $1,200 $2,375 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  28. 01019 Serious 19100305 B02 I 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $1,500 $2,850 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  29. 01020 Serious 19100305 J01 I 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $1,500 $2,850 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  30. 01021 Serious 19100333 A02 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $3,400 $3,800 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  31. 01022 Serious 19100334 C01 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $2,000 $3,800 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  32. 01023A Serious 19100335 A01 I 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $1,700 $3,325 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  33. 01023B Serious 19100335 A02 I 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  34. 01024 Serious 19260405 J01 I 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $1,200 $2,375 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  35. 01025 Serious 19260405 B02 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $1,200 $2,375 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  36. 01026 Serious 19260501 B01 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $1,500 $2,850 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  37. 02001 Other 19100132 D02 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  38. 02002 Other 19100147 C07 IV 07/10/2018 08/10/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  39. 02003 Other 19100184 E03 II 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  40. 02004 Other 19100303 G02 II 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  41. 02005 Other 19100304 G02 II 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  42. 02006 Other 19100305 B01 II 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  43. 02007 Other 19100305 G01 IV 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  44. 02008 Other 19100305 G02 III 07/10/2018 07/18/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 106545.015Event: 03/07/2018Employee Testing Equipment Sustains An Electric Shock
At 6:00 a.m. on March 7, 2018, an employee was working for a manufacturer of air conditioning equipment. He was preparing to do a functional test on a condenser unit. He was removing the leads from a power distribution block. The employee failed to ensure that the disconnect switch that fed power at 480 volts to the condenser unit was in the 'off' position and locked out. The employee was removing the leads from the distribution block with a folding hex wrench. He came into contact with one off the leads, which was energized at 480 volts. He sustained an electric shock. He lost consciousness. The electric current entered his body through his right hand and exited through his left hand. He received second degree burns on both hands and he was hospitalized.
Keywords: air conditioner, electrical testing, electrician, lockout, lockout/tagout, electrical work, electrical box, capacitor, electric shock
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1300195.015 Hospitalized injury Electric Shock Production testers

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close