Powered by GoogleTranslate

Alert: Due to routine maintenance on the OSHA website, some pages are temporarily unavailable.
To report an emergency, file a complaint with OSHA or ask a safety and health question, call 1-800-321-6742 (OSHA).

Inspection Detail

Case Status: PENDING ABATEMENT OF VIOLATIONS

Note: The following inspection has not been indicated as closed. Please be aware that the information shown may change, e.g. violations may be added or deleted. For open cases, in which a citation has been issued, the citation information may not be available for 5 days following receipt by the employer for Federal inspections or for 30 days following receipt by the employer for State inspections.

Inspection: 1291035.015 - Genan Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Houston North

Nr: 1291035.015Report ID: 0626600Open Date: 01/27/2018

Genan Inc.
18038 Beaumont Hwy.
Houston, TX 77049
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC:
NAICS: 423930/Recyclable Material Merchant Wholesalers
Mailing: P.O. Box 24187, Houston, TX 77229

Inspection Type:Fat/Cat
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Health Close Conference:05/11/2018
Emphasis: N:Dustexpl, L:GifallClose Case:

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident1305043    
Case Status: PENDING ABATEMENT OF VIOLATIONS

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 18 18
Current Violations 15 3 18
Initial Penalty $204,549 $0 $0 $0 $0 $204,549
Current Penalty $97,500 $0 $0 $2,500 $0 $100,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 5A0001 07/11/2018 08/31/2019 $6,500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19100028 B01 I 07/11/2018 05/31/2019 $6,500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003A Other 19100029 B01 07/11/2018 08/06/2018 $500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01003B Serious 19100029 B02 07/11/2018 08/06/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01004A Other 19100134 E01 07/11/2018 $500 $6,652 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01004B Other 19100134 F02 07/11/2018 08/06/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01005 Serious 19100146 C04 07/11/2018 10/01/2018 $6,500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 01006 Serious 19100146 D02 07/11/2018 10/01/2018 $6,500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 01007 Serious 19100146 D03 07/11/2018 10/01/2018 $6,500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01008 Serious 19100146 D06 07/11/2018 10/01/2018 $6,500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 01009 Serious 19100146 D09 07/11/2018 10/01/2018 $6,500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 01010 Serious 19100146 H01 07/11/2018 10/01/2018 $6,500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  13. 01011 Serious 19100147 C04 II B 07/11/2018 10/01/2018 $6,500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  14. 01012 Other 19100147 C06 I 07/11/2018 10/01/2018 $1,500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  15. 01013 Serious 19100147 C07 I A 07/11/2018 10/01/2018 $6,500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  16. 01014 Serious 19100147 D02 07/11/2018 10/01/2018 $6,500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  17. 01015 Serious 19100147 D03 07/11/2018 10/01/2018 $6,500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  18. 01016 Serious 19100147 D04 I 07/11/2018 10/01/2018 $6,500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  19. 01017 Serious 19100147 F03 II D 07/11/2018 10/01/2018 $6,500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  20. 01018 Serious 19100212 A03 II 07/11/2018 01/02/2019 $6,500 $11,641 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 102624.015Event: 01/26/2018Employee Is Killed By Tire Recycling Shredder
At 7:30 p.m. on January 26, 2018, an employee was working for a wholesaler of recycled material. He was clearing a tire jam inside a shredder. To enter the shredder, he had passed a functioning light curtain. Once inside the shredder, the employee reset the light curtain. The reset button of the light curtain was on the side of the shredder past the light curtain (presumably, within its boundary). The narrative did not state whether he did this before or after the jam had been cleared. Once the light curtain had been reset, the shredder started operating. The employee was pulled into the shredder and was killed.
Keywords: caught between, mech mat handling, light curtain, machine guarding
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1291035.015 Fatality Other Laborers, except construction

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close