Powered by GoogleTranslate

Inspection Detail

Case Status: PENDING ABATEMENT OF VIOLATIONS

Note: The following inspection has not been indicated as closed. Please be aware that the information shown may change, e.g. violations may be added or deleted. For open cases, in which a citation has been issued, the citation information may not be available for 5 days following receipt by the employer for Federal inspections or for 30 days following receipt by the employer for State inspections.

Inspection: 1280191.015 - Dillman Equipment, Inc.

Inspection Information - Office: Madison

Nr: 1280191.015Report ID: 0523300Open Date: 11/30/2017

Dillman Equipment, Inc.
34600 County Highway K
Prairie Du Chien, WI 53821
Union Status: NonUnion
SIC:
NAICS: 333120/Construction Machinery Manufacturing
Mailing: 34600 County Highway K, Prairie Du Chien, WI 53821

Inspection Type:Fat/Cat
Scope:Complete Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Health Close Conference:05/22/2018
Emphasis: L:Lead, N:Lead, L:FallClose Case:

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Referral1287473 Yes  
 Accident1288473    
Case Status: PENDING ABATEMENT OF VIOLATIONS

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 5 5
Current Violations 5 5
Initial Penalty $84,997 $0 $0 $0 $0 $84,997
Current Penalty $48,966 $0 $0 $0 $0 $48,966
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001A Serious 19100022 A03 05/23/2018 06/21/2018 $12,934 $12,934 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01001B Serious 19100028 B03 II 05/23/2018 06/21/2018 $0 $12,934 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 3. 01003A Serious 19100094 A02 II 05/23/2018 07/13/2018 $0 $9,239 $0 I - Informal Settlement
Deleted 4. 01003B Serious 19101000 A02 05/23/2018 07/13/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 01003C Serious 19101000 E 05/23/2018 09/30/2019 $4,620 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  6. 01004A Serious 19100094 A03 I 05/23/2018 07/13/2018 $9,239 $9,239 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  7. 01004B Serious 19100094 A03 I B 05/23/2018 07/13/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  8. 01004C Serious 19100094 A04 I 05/23/2018 07/13/2018 $0 $9,239 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  9. 01004D Serious 19100094 A04 I B 05/23/2018 07/13/2018 $0 $0 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  10. 01006 Serious 19100134 D01 III 05/23/2018 07/13/2018 $9,239 $9,239 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  11. 01007A Serious 19100134 I05 III 05/23/2018 07/13/2018 $12,934 $9,239 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  12. 01007B Serious 19100134 I07 05/23/2018 07/13/2018 $0 $12,934 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 101125.015Event: 11/27/2017Employee Is Struck By Sandblasting Media And Later Dies
At 1:00 p.m. on November 27, 2017, two employees were abrasive blasting at a facility that manufactures asphalt paving equipment. The blasting operation took place inside a blasting room that was approximately 32 feet wide and 124 feet long. The employees were abrading a drum frame, which was approximately nine feet wide and 76 feet long, and consisted of structural steel and equipment that would later support a drum mixer. The drum frame was supported on one end by an axel set which was similar to a set of axles that would support a semi-trailer. The axle set consisted of the axles, tires and steel beams that were attached to the drum frame for transportation around the facility. The steel beams were approximately 10 inches wide with multiple openings or holes between them ranging from approximately two feet to four feet. The abrasive blast media was coal slag and the employees wore supplied air respirators and a blasting suits. It was Employee #1's first day on the job, and Employee #2 was providing on the job training to Employee #1. The employees started working together at approximately 12:30 p.m. and after some practice and observation, both employees were working within a few feet of each other to blast the same piece of equipment. At approximately 1:00 p.m., Employee #2 noticed that Employee #1 was lying on top of the axle set and had been badly injured. The coal slag blasting media had accumulated on the walking surfaces, making them slippery. The fine particulates created during the abrasive blasting operation likely created poor visibility. The poor visibility combined with the narrow working surfaces, multiple holes in the surface and slippery conditions likely caused Employee #1 to lose his balance and accidentally direct the blast nozzle that was operating in excess of 100 psi, at himself, causing a laceration of the inner left groin area that damaged the femoral vein and artery. Employee #1 was transported to the hospital and died on November 30, 2017 due to complications from extensive blood loss.
Keywords: poor visibility, struck by, sandblasting, artery, laceration, high pressure, slippery surface, ppe
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1280191.015 Fatality Cut/Laceration Occupation Not Listed

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close