Powered by GoogleTranslate

Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA

Inspection Detail

Case Status: CLOSED
Inspection: 1087345.015 - 104370 - National Railroad Passenger Corporation

Inspection Information - Office: Indiana

Nr: 1087345.015Report ID: 0551800Open Date: 08/24/2015

104370 - National Railroad Passenger Corporation
202 Garstang Street
Beech Grove, IN 46107
Union Status: Union
SIC: 4011/Railroads, Line-Haul Operating
NAICS: 482111/Line-Haul Railroads
Mailing: 202 Garstang Street, Beech Grove, IN 46107

Inspection Type:Fat/Cat
Scope:Partial Advanced Notice:N
Ownership:Private
Safety/Health:Safety Close Conference:11/19/2015
Close Case:05/02/2016

Related Activity:TypeIDSafetyHealth
 Accident1013669    
Case Status: CLOSED

Violation Summary
Serious Willful Repeat Other Unclass Total
Initial Violations 4 1 5
Current Violations 4 1 5
Initial Penalty $28,000 $70,000 $0 $0 $0 $98,000
Current Penalty $14,000 $25,000 $0 $0 $0 $39,000
FTA Amount $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Violation Items
# ID Type Standard Issuance Abate Curr$ Init$ Fta$ Contest LastEvent
  1. 01001 Serious 19100252 A02 III B 02/05/2016 04/01/2016 $3,500 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  2. 01002 Serious 19100252 A02 XIII C 02/05/2016 04/01/2016 $3,500 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  3. 01003 Serious 19100252 A03 I 02/05/2016 04/01/2016 $3,500 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  4. 01004 Serious 19100252 A03 II 02/05/2016 04/01/2016 $3,500 $7,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement
  5. 02001 Willful 19100252 A02 VI C 02/05/2016 04/01/2016 $25,000 $70,000 $0 I - Informal Settlement

Accident Investigation Summary
Summary Nr: 79069.015Event: 08/23/2015Employee Is Burned In Explosion And Later Dies
At 11:44 a.m. on August 22, 2015, Employee #1 was using a Metal Inert Gas (MIG) welder to repair a leak on a locomotive diesel fuel tank. The tank was an internal component of the locomotive that contained hazardous chemicals, including CITGO No.2 Diesel Fuel and High Sulfur, a Category 3 flammable liquid. During the welding/cutting operation, the tank exploded. Employee #1 sustained burns over 95 percent of his body. He died the next day, August 23, 2015 at 12:00 a.m.
Keywords: sulfur, tank, burn, flammable liquid, locomotive, fuel oil, explosion, welding
Inspection Degree Nature Occupation
1 1087345.015 Fatality Burn/Scald(Heat) Occupation not reported

Thank You for Visiting Our Website

You are exiting the Department of Labor's Web server.

The Department of Labor does not endorse, takes no responsibility for, and exercises no control over the linked organization or its views, or contents, nor does it vouch for the accuracy or accessibility of the information contained on the destination server. The Department of Labor also cannot authorize the use of copyrighted materials contained in linked Web sites. Users must request such authorization from the sponsor of the linked Web site. Thank you for visiting our site. Please click the button below to continue.

Close