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Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry 
Occupational Safety and Health Division 

443 Lafayette Road 

St. Paul, l\1N 55155-4307 

Phone: 651-284-5050 FAX: 651-284-5741 
 

 

 

 

Citation and Notification of Penalty 
 
 

 
 

To: 

Tom Baures Excavating LLC 

S3543 County Rd M 

Fountain City, WI 54629 

 
Inspection Site: 

850 68th Ave 

Minnesota City, l\1N 55959 

Inspection Number: 318100823 

OSHI ID: L8587 

Optional Report No.: 07617 

Inspection Date(s): 07/31/2017 - 01/05/2018 

Issuance Date: 01/09/2018 

 
The violation(!:>) described in this Citation and 

Notification of Penalty is (are) alleged to have 

occurred on or about the day(s) the inspection was 

made unless otherwise indicated within the description 

given below. 
 

This Citation and Notification of Penalty (this Citation) describes violations of the Minnesota 

Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1973 (the Act). The penalty amounts listed herein are based on 

these violations. You must abate the violations referred to in this Citation by the dates listed and pay the 

penalties, unless within 20 calendar days from your receipt of this Citation you file a Notice of Contest 

with the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry. Your contestation rights and other 

employer and employee rights and responsibilities are set out in the first three pages of this Citation. The 

description of alleged violations begins on page 5 of this Citation. 
 

 

EMPLOYER AND EMPLOYEE RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 
 

Posting - The Act requires that a copy of this Citation shall  be  promptly  posted  at or near  each  place 

that an alleged violation referred to in the citation occurred or, if not practicable,  in a prominent  place  

where it will be readily visible by all affected employees.  If  uncontested,  this  Citation  must  remain 

posted until all alleged violations cited therein are corrected, or for 20 days, whichever is longer.  If 

contested, this Citation must remain posted until the contestation is resolved. 

 

Penalty Payment - Payment of all penalties is to be made by check or money order payable to 

"Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, MNOSHA", and remitted to the Occupational Safety and 

Health Division at P.O. Box 64025, St. Paul, MN, 55164-0025, within 20 calendar days following 
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receipt of this Citation. After 60 days, unpaid penalties shall increase 25 percent and shall accrue an 

additional interest of 10 percent per month compounded monthly until the fine is paid in full.  

 
Effective August 1, 2003, the minimum $25,000 penalty issued to employers with fewer than 50 

employees for serious citations connected to the death of an employee may be made in five payments of  

$5,000. The first $5,000 payment is due within 20 calendar days following receipt of this Citation. The 2nd-

5th payments of $5,000 are due on the next four anniversary dates of this Citation becoming a Final Order. 

The Commissioner may elect to waive the 2nd-5th $5,000 payment if in the preceding year the employer 

receives no citations. MNOSHA will provide written notice of the 2nd-5th payments dates or of any penalty 

waiver. 

 

Notification of Corrective Action - Progress reports on correction of alleged violations not 

immediately abated as observed by the occupational safety and health investigator shall be submitted on 

the Progress Report form provided with this Citation. Written progress reports must be mailed to the 

address shown on the top of page I of this Citation by the latest abatement date on the citation, or within 

30 days after receipt of the citation, whichever is earlier. Reports must state the specific corrective action 

taken on each cited item, the date of such action and the anticipated abatement date of uncompleted 

items. Additional written progress reports shall be submitted every thirty days until the items are fully 

abated. Facsimile (FAX) transmittal is acceptable. 

 
All alleged violations not contested must be corrected by the abatement date specified in this Citation. A 

followup inspection may be made for the purpose of ascertaining that the employer has  corrected  the  

alleged violations  and  posted this Citation  as required  by the Act.  Failure to correct  an alleged violation 

by the abatement date on this Citation may result  in further  penalties  for  each  day the alleged  violation 

has not been corrected. 

 

Petition for Modification of Abatement Date (PMA) - If, due to factors beyond reasonable 

control, compliance cannot be achieved by the abatement day on the citation, the employer may file a 

Petition for Modification of Abatement Date (PMA) to obtain an extension of the abatement time period. 

The PMA must be in writing and received at the address shown on the top of page 1 of this Citation prior 

to the expiration of the abatement date on the citation. Facsimile (FAX) transmittal of a PMA is 

acceptable. A copy of the PMA must be posted for ten days in the location where this Citation is posted. 

A copy of the PMA must also be served upon authorized employee representatives. 

 
The employer's written petition must describe: 

 
1) The action that has been taken so far to achieve compliance; 

2) The amount of additional time needed for compliance; 

3) The reasons why additional time is needed; 

4) A description of the interim steps that will be taken to safeguard employees against the cited 

hazard; 

5) A statement that employees have been notified of the PMA filing. 

 
Employees have the right to file a written objection to the Commissioner regarding the employer's PMA 

request. A copy of the objection must be served on the employer within 10 days of the employer's 

posting of the PMA. The employee objection must be received by the Commissioner within 15 days of 

the employer's PMA request. Facsimile (FAX) transmittal is acceptable. 
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Employer Right to Contest - The employer has the right to a hearing to contest  any or  all  parts of 

this Citation. If the employer wishes to contest, the employer must  fully  complete  and  notarize  the 

attached NOTICE OF CONTEST AND SERVICE TO AFFECTED EMPLOYEES (Notice  of  Contest 

form) and file it with the Commissioner at the address shown  on the top of  page 1  of this Citation  within 

20 calendar days of receiving the citation. 
 

Important: To be considered filed, all parts of the Notice of Contest form must be completed and 

the completed form must be deposited in the United States mail and postmarked, or otherwise 

timely received by the Commissioner at the above address within 20 calendar days after the date 

this Citation is received by the employer. You may also file electronically at 

(contestation.dli@state.mn.us), by facsimile (FAX), or by hand-delivering the completed form to 

the Department, if received no later than 4:30 p.m. on the 20th calendar day. If the employer fails to 

file the Notice of Contest form on time, this Citation and Notification of Penalty becomes a final 

order of the Commissioner which is not subject to review by any court or agency and the 

Occupational Safety and Health Division may file and enforce the penalty as a district court 

judgment without further notice or additional proceedings pursuant to Minnesota  Statute  § 

16D.17. 

 

Employee Right to Contest - An employee or authorized representative of employees has the right 

to a hearing to contest this Citation by filing a letter with the Commissioner of the Department of Labor 

and Industry at the address shown on page 1 within 20 calendar days of the employer's receipt of this 

Citation. 
 

Important: To be considered filed, an employee letter of contest must be deposited in the United 

States mail and postmarked, or otherwise timely received by the Commissioner at the above 

address within 20 calendar days after the date this Citation is received by the employer. You may 

also file electronically at (contestation.dli@state.mn.us), by facsimile (FAX), or by hand-delivering 

the completed form to the Department, if received no later than 4:30 p.m. on the 20th calendar day. 

If the employee fails to file a letter of contest on time, this Citation and Notification of Penalty 

becomes a final order of the Commissioner which is not subject to review by any court or agency 

and the Occupational Safety and Health Division may file and enforce the penalty as a district  

court judgment without further notice or additional proceedings pursuant to Minnesota Statute § 

16D.17. 

 

Employee Right to Party Status - Affected employees or their authorized employee 

representatives may elect to participate as parties in the formal contested case hearing by filing written 

notice with the Commissioner at the address shown above at least 45 days before the start of the hearing. 

The notice must contain the employees' names, addresses, authorized employee representatives, if any, 

and a statement that they are affected employees of the cited employer. 

 

Employer Discrimination Unlawful - Employees who believe that they have been discharged or 

otherwise discriminated against by any person because the employees have exercised any right authorized 

under the provisions of Minnesota Statutes§§ 182.65 to 182.674, may, within 30 days after such alleged 

discrimination occurs, file a complaint with the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry 

at the address shown above, alleging the discriminatory act. 
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PENALTY INFORMATION 
 

Types  of  Violations  -  There  are  5 types  of violations  that  may be cited by MNOSHA. They are: 

Nonserious, Serious, Willful, Repeat and Failure to Abate. 
 

Penalties - In cases not involving the death of an employee, the law allows the following maximum 

penalties: Nonserious, $7,000; Serious, $7,000; Willful, $70,000; Repeat, $70,000; and Failure to Abate, 

$7,000 per day the violation remains unabated. If a Willful or Repeat violation caused or contributed to 

the death of an employee, however, MNOSHA is compelled by law to assess the employer a total non-

negotiable penalty of at least $50,000 for all citations connected to the employee's death. If there are no 

Willful or Repeat violations among the violations that caused or contributed to the employee's death, 

MNOSHA must assess the employer a non-negotiable penalty of at least $25,000 for each citation 

connected to the employee's death. The following violations are not subject to these minimums and will 

be processed according to MNOSHA's ordinary penalty system: (a) any serious violations issued to an 

employer with fewer than 50 employees when the victim of a workplace fatality owned a controlling 

interest in the business unless the Commissioner determines that a fine shall be assessed, and (b) any 

violations found during a fatality investigation but determined not to be connected to the death of an 

employee. 
 

Credits - A penalty for a violation may be credited by as much as 95 percent, depending on the employer's 

good faith (up to 30%), size of business (up to 55%), and previous violation history (up to 10%). The 

penalties which appear on the Citation and Notification of Penalty have been reduced by the credits 

described. 
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Minnesota Inspection Number: 318100823 

Department  of Labor and Industry Inspection Date(s): 07/31/2017 - 01/05/2018 

Occupational Safety and Health Division Issuance Date: 01/09/2018 

OSIDID: L8587 

Optional Report No.: 07617 

Citation and Notification of Penalty 
 

Company Name: Tom Baures Excavating LLC 

Inspection Site: 850 68th Ave, Minnesota City, l\1N 55959 

 

 

 

Citation 01 Item 001 Type of Violation: Serious 
 

29 CFR 1910.147(c)(4)(i): Procedures were not developed, documented and utilized for the control of 

potentially hazardous energy when employees were engaged in activities covered by this section: 

 
On 7-31-2017 the employer did not ensure that Lock-Out/Tag-Out procedures were developed, 

documented, and utilized for the box on truck #204, before an employee began maintenance activities on 

the equipment under the box. 

 

 

 

This citation requires both Certification of Abatement and Documentation of Abatement to 

be submitted by the abatement due date. 

 
Certification of Abatement: An employer's signed statement, submitted on a Progress Report 

form, that the violation has been abated. 

 
Documentation of Abatement: Documents submitted by the employer demonstrating that the 

abatement is complete, (i.e., pictures, receipts, etc.). 
 

Date By Which Violation Must Be Abated: 

Penalty: 

2/2/2018 

$25,000.00 
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Minnesota Inspection Number: 318100823 

Department of Labor and Industry Inspection Date(s): 07/31/2017 - 01/05/2018 

Occupational Safety and Health Division Issuance Date: 01/09/2018 

OSIDID: L8587 

Optional Report No.: 07617 

Citation and Notification of Penalty 
 

Company Name: Tom Baures Excavating LLC 
 

Inspection Site: 850 68th Ave, Minnesota City, MN 55959  

 

 

Citation 01 Item 002 Type of Violation: Serious 
 

29 CFR 1910.147(c)(7)(i): The employer did not provide adequate training to ensure that the purpose 

and function of the energy control program was understood by employees and that the knowledge and 

skills required for the safe application, usage and removal of energy control devices were acquired by 

employees: 

 
The employer did not ensure that adequate Lock-Out/Tag-Out training was provided to an employee 

before the employee began maintenance activities on the equipment under the box of truck #204. 

 

 

 
This citation requires both Certification of Abatement and Documentation of Abatement to 

be submitted by the abatement due date. 

 
Certification of Abatement: An employer's signed statement, submitted on a Progress Report 

form, that the violation has been abated. 

 
Documentation of Abatement: Documents submitted by the employer demonstrating that the 

abatement is complete, (i.e., pictures, receipts, etc.). 
 

Date By Which Violation Must Be Abated: 

Penalty: 

2/2/2018 

$25,000.00 
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Minnesota Inspection Number: 318100823 

Department of Labor Industry Inspection Date(s): 07/31/2017 - 01/05/2018 

Occupational Safety and Health Division Issuance Date: 01/09/2018 

OSIDID: L8587 

Optional Report No.: 07617 

Citation and Notification of Penalty 
 

Company Name: Tom Baures Excavating LLC 

Inspection Site: 850 68th Ave, Minnesota City, MN 55959 

 

 

 

Citation 01 Item 003 Type of Violation: Serious 
 

Minn. Rules 5205.0670: Heavy machinery and equipment was not adequately blocked or cribbed before 

being serviced or repaired: 

 
On 7-31-2017 the box on truck #204 was not blocked or cribbed before an employee began working 

under the truck box. 

 

 

 
This citation requires both Certification of Abatement and Documentation of Abatement to 

be submitted by the abatement due date. 

 
Certification of Abatement: An employer's signed statement, submitted on a Progress Report 

form, that the violation has been abated. 

 
Documentation of Abatement: Documents submitted by the employer demonstrating that the 

abatement is complete, (i.e., pictures, receipts, etc.). 
 

Date By Which Violation Must Be Abated: 

Penalty: 

1/13/2018 

$25,000.00 
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Minnesota Inspection Number: 318100823 

 Labor and Industry Inspection. Date(s): 07/31/2017 - 01/05/2018 

Occupational Safety and Health Division Issuance Date: 01/09/2018 

OSIDID: L8587 

Optional Report No.: 07617 

Citation and Notification of Penalty 
 

Company Name: Tom Baures Excavating LLC 
 

Inspection Site: 850 68th Ave, Minnesota City, MN 55959  

 

 

Citation  02 Item  001 Type of Violation: Nonserious 
 

29 CFR 1910.147(c)(6)(i): The employer did not conduct a periodic inspection of the energy control 

procedure at least annually to ensure that the procedure and the requirement of this standard were being 

followed: 

 
The employer did not ensure that a periodic inspection of the energy control procedure was conducted 

annually. 

 

 

 

Date By Which Violation Must Be Abated: 

Penalty: 
2/2/2018 

$0.00 

 

 

 

 
Ken B. Peterson, Commissioner 

MN Department of Labor and Industry 




