Archive Notice - OSHA Archive

NOTICE: This is an OSHA Archive Document, and may no longer represent OSHA Policy. It is presented here as historical content, for research and review purposes only.

Department of Labor Logo OSHA Trade Release

Please note: As of January 20, 2021, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.

Nov. 13, 2014
Contact: Office of Communications
Phone: 202-693-1999

OSHA schedules meeting of National Advisory Committee on
Occupational Safety and Health; announces member appointments

WASHINGTON – The Occupational Safety and Health Administration will hold a meeting of the National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health, Dec. 10, 2014, in Washington, D.C.

NACOSH advises, consults with and makes recommendations to the secretaries of labor and health and human services on matters relating to the Occupational Safety and Health Act including regulatory, research, compliance assistance and enforcement issues. NACOSH consists of 12 members representing workers, employers, safety and health professionals, states and the public. NACOSH holds two to four meetings per year, which are open to the public.

The agenda includes remarks from Dr. David Michaels, assistant secretary of labor for occupational safety and health and Dr. John Howard, director of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, updates on Ebola activities, Preventing Occupational Illness Through Improved Chemical Management, and Protecting Temporary Workers.

The committee will meet from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. ET in Room C-5521 #4 at the U.S. Department of Labor, 200 Constitution Ave., N.W., Washington, DC 20210. The meeting is open to the public. Comments and requests to speak may be submitted electronically at, the Federal e-Rulemaking Portal, by mail or facsimile. See the Federal Register notice for details. Comments and requests to speak must be submitted by Dec. 2, 2014.

Secretary of Labor Thomas E. Perez recently appointed eight individuals to serve on NACOSH. The following four new members will serve a three-year term:

  • Dr. Lisa Brosseau, University of Illinois at Chicago, School of Public Health - public representative
  • Lamont Byrd, International Brotherhood of Teamsters - labor representative
  • Rick Ingram, BP, management representative
  • Jessica Martinez, National Council on Occupational Safety and Health Network - safety representative

In addition, the Secretary reappointed the following four NACOSH members to serve another two-year term:

  • James Johnson, National Safety Council, Workplace Safety Initiatives - safety representative
  • Margaret Seminario, AFL-CIO - labor representative
  • Anne Soiza, Washington Division of Occupational Safety and Health - public representative and NACOSH Chair
  • Dr. Joseph Van Houten, Johnson & Johnson, Worldwide Environment, Health and Safety - management representative

Under the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, employers are responsible for providing safe and healthful workplaces for their employees. OSHA's role is to ensure these conditions for America's working men and women by setting and enforcing standards, and providing training, education and assistance. For more information, visit


U.S. Department of Labor news materials are accessible at The department's Reasonable Accommodation Resource Center converts departmental information and documents into alternative formats, which include Braille and large print. For alternative format requests, please contact the department at (202) 693-7828 (voice) or (800) 877-8339 (federal relay).