Archive Notice - OSHA Archive

NOTICE: This is an OSHA Archive Document, and may no longer represent OSHA Policy. It is presented here as historical content, for research and review purposes only.

Department of Labor Logo OSHA Trade Release

Please note: As of January 20, 2021, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.

October 20, 2014
Contact: Office of Communications
Phone: 202-693-1999

Secretary of Labor announces new members of
Whistleblower Protection Advisory Committee

WASHINGTON – Secretary of Labor Thomas Perez today announced the appointment of two new members and the re-appointment of 13 members of the Whistleblower Protection Advisory Committee. WPAC advises, consults with and makes recommendations to the secretary of labor and the assistant secretary of labor for occupational safety and health on ways to improve the fairness, efficiency, effectiveness and transparency of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration's whistleblower protection programs.

The 12 voting and three ex officio members of the WPAC were appointed by Secretary Perez. The committee's membership will be staggered, beginning this year. Therefore, some members will serve two-year terms and some will serve one-year terms. The new committee will become effective Dec. 1, 2014.

Three members represent the public:

  • Jonathan Brock, retired associate professor, Daniel J. Evans School of Public Affairs, University of Washington; and chairman, Hanford Concerns Council (one-year term)
  • Richard Moberly, associate dean, University of Nebraska (two-year term)
  • Emily Spieler, Edwin W. Hadley professor of law, Northeastern School of Law (chairperson) (two-year term)

Four members represent management:

  • David Eherts, vice president global EHS, Actavis Pharmaceuticals (two-year term)
  • Gregory Keating, shareholder, co-chair of the whistleblowing practice group and member of the board of directors, Littler Mendelson P.C. (two-year term)
  • Marcía Narine, professor, St. Thomas University School of Law; and compliance consultant, MDO Partners (one-year term)
  • Kenneth Wengert, C.S.P., A.R.M., director of safety, environment and business continuity planning, Kraft Foods (one-year term)

Four members represent labor:

  • Ava Barbour, associate general counsel, International Union, United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers of America (one-year term)
  • Eric Frumin, health and safety director, Change to Win (two-year term)
  • Nancy Lessin, program director, United Steelworkers' Tony Mazzocchi Center for Health, Safety and Environmental Education (one-year term)
  • Jennifer Rosenbaum, founding legal and policy director, New Orleans Workers' Center for Racial Justice National Guestworker Alliance (new member; two-year term)

One member represents OSHA state plans:

  • Christine Dougherty, discrimination investigator, Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry (one-year term)

Three non-voting members represent federal agencies:

  • Rina Tucker Harris, enforcement attorney, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (two-year term)
  • Adam Miles, deputy special counsel, policy and congressional affairs, U.S. Office of Special Counsel (two-year term)
  • Robert W. Miller, office director, FMCSA Office of Policy, Strategic Planning & Regulations, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (new member; two-year term)

OSHA enforces the whistleblower provisions of the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 and 21 other statutes protecting employees who report reasonably perceived violations of various workplace, commercial motor vehicle, airline, nuclear, pipeline, environmental, railroad, public transportation, maritime, consumer product, health care reform, corporate securities, food safety and consumer financial reform regulations. Additional information is available at

Under the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, employers are responsible for providing safe and healthful workplaces for their employees. OSHA's role is to ensure these conditions for America's working men and women by setting and enforcing standards, and providing training, education and assistance. For more information, visit


U.S. Department of Labor news materials are accessible at The department's Reasonable Accommodation Resource Center converts departmental information and documents into alternative formats, which include Braille and large print. For alternative format requests, please contact the department at (202) 693-7828 (voice) or (800) 877-8339 (federal relay).