Department of Labor Logo OSHA Trade Release

Please note: As of January 20, 2021, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.

September 23, 2019
Contact: Office of Communications
Phone: 202-693-1999


U.S. Department of Labor Announces New Members Selected to the
National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health

WASHINGTON, DC – The U.S. Department of Labor has selected 12 members to serve on the National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety and Health (NACOSH). The members, four of whom were designated by the Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS), represent occupational health, occupational safety, labor, management, and public interests. The newly appointed members include:

Occupational health representatives:

  • Patricia Bertsche, Ph.D., Occupational Health & Wellness Consultant, PKB Consulting, LLC (HHS Designee); appointed to a two-year term
  • John Lambeth, DrPH, CIH, CSP, Manager, Industrial Hygiene and Occupational Safety, University of Georgia (HHS Designee); appointed to a one-year term

Occupational safety representatives:

  • Michael Belcher, CSP, President, SafetyPro, LLC; appointed to a two-year term
  • Kelli Smith, Occupational Health Director, Cummins, Inc.; appointed to a one-year term

Labor representatives:

  • Robyn Robbins, Director, Occupational Safety and Health, United Food & Commercial Workers (UFCW) International Union; appointed to a one-year term
  • Steven Sallman, Safety and Health Specialist, Safety & Environment Department, United Steelworkers (USW); appointed to a two-year term

Management representatives:

  • Amy Harper, Deputy Director, National Safety Council; appointed to a one-year term
  • William Walkowiak, CSP, Director, Occupational Safety Policy and Programs, Office of the Deputy Assistant to the Air Force; appointed to a two-year term

Public representatives:

  • Mark Friend, CSP, Professor & Interim Dean, School of Graduate Studies, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University; appointed to a one-year term
  • Cynthia Lewis, M.S.P.H., ASP, Director, Gulf Coast Safety Institute (HHS Designee); appointed to two-year term
  • Andrew Perkins, CIH, CSP, Senior Industrial Hygienist, Alabama Power Company (HHS Designee); appointed to a one-year term
  • Anne Soiza, Assistant Director, Washington Department of Labor and Industries, Division of Occupational Safety and Health. The Secretary also appointed Ms. Soiza to chair the Committee; appointed to a two-year term.

NACOSH advises, consults with, and makes recommendations to the Secretaries of Labor, and Health and Human Services on matters relating to the Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) Act of 1970 including regulatory, research, compliance assistance and enforcement issues. The committee holds at least two meetings per year, which are open to the public.

Under the act, employers are responsible for providing safe and healthful workplaces for their employees. OSHA’s role is to help ensure these conditions for America’s working men and women by setting and enforcing standards, and providing training, education and assistance. For more information, visit

The mission of the Department of Labor is to foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights.

Editor's Note: Correction made to a member's affiliation, and academic credential.

# # #

U.S. Department of Labor news materials are accessible at The Department’s Reasonable Accommodation Resource Center converts departmental information and documents into alternative formats, which include Braille and large print. For alternative format requests, please contact the Department at (202) 693-7828 (voice) or (800) 877-8339 (federal relay).