Archive Notice - OSHA Archive

NOTICE: This is an OSHA Archive Document, and may no longer represent OSHA Policy. It is presented here as historical content, for research and review purposes only.

Department of Labor Logo OSHA Trade Release

Please note: As of January 20, 2021, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.

Sept. 9, 2014
Contact: Office of Communications
Phone: 202-693-1999

OSHA seeks nominations for five members to serve on
Federal Advisory Council on Occupational Safety and Health

Secretary of Labor Thomas E. Perez appoints six members

WASHINGTON – The Occupational Safety and Health Administration today announced a request for nominations and the appointment of members to the Federal Advisory Council on Occupational Safety and Health.

FACOSH advises the secretary of labor on matters relating to the occupational safety and health of federal employees. The council provides guidance and recommendations to the secretary and OSHA on ways to reduce and keep to a minimum the number and severity of injuries and illnesses in the federal workforce. FACOSH also encourages each federal executive branch department and agency to establish and maintain effective occupational safety and health programs.

The 16-member council comprises eight members representing federal agency management and eight members from labor organizations representing federal employees. OSHA is accepting nominations for five new members, three federal agency management representatives and two federal employee representatives. Members will serve three-year terms, beginning Jan. 1, 2015.

Secretary of Labor Thomas E. Perez has appointed the following six members to serve three-year terms on the council.

Federal employee labor organization representatives:

  • Carolyn D. Bland-Bowles, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees
  • Dennis P. Phelps, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
  • Mark J. Segall, National Association of Agriculture Employees

Federal agency management representatives:

  • Wesley J. Carpenter, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Wayne Quillin, U.S. Department of State
  • Maureen Sullivan, U.S. Department of Defense

Nominations may be submitted electronically at, the Federal eRulemaking Portal. Submissions may also be sent by mail or facsimile. See the Federal Register notice for details. Nominations must be submitted by Oct. 5, 2014.

Under the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, employers are responsible for providing safe and healthful workplaces for their employees. OSHA's role is to ensure these conditions for America's working men and women by setting and enforcing standards, and providing training, education and assistance. For more information, visit


U.S. Department of Labor news materials are accessible at The department's Reasonable Accommodation Resource Center converts departmental information and documents into alternative formats, which include Braille and large print. For alternative format requests, please contact the department at (202) 693-7828 (voice) or (800) 877-8339 (federal relay).