Archive Notice - OSHA Archive

NOTICE: This is an OSHA Archive Document, and may no longer represent OSHA Policy. It is presented here as historical content, for research and review purposes only.

Department of Labor Logo OSHA Trade Release

Please note: As of January 20, 2021, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.

Feb. 4, 2014
Contact: Office of Communications
Phone: 202-693-1999

Secretary of Labor Thomas E. Perez appoints 15 members to
Maritime Advisory Committee for Occupational Safety and Health

WASHINGTON – Secretary of Labor Thomas E. Perez announced the appointment of 15 members and a special agency liaison to the Maritime Advisory Committee for Occupational Safety and Health.

MACOSH advises the secretary of labor, through the assistant secretary of labor for occupational safety and health, on various issues related to safe and healthful working conditions in the maritime industry, including safety and health standards, injury and illness prevention, training and outreach initiatives, and enforcement initiatives to improve the safety and health of maritime workers.

The secretary has selected the following members, who have experience in worker safety and health in the maritime industry.

Four members represent management:

  • Karen Conrad, North Pacific Fishing Vessel Owners' Association, Seattle, Wash.
  • Kelly Garber, APL Ltd., Seattle, Wash.
  • Donald Raffo, General Dynamics Corp., Stonington, Conn.
  • Arthur T. Ross, Texas Terminals L.P., Houston, Texas

Four members represent labor:

  • Lesley E. Johnson, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Pascagoula, Miss.
  • George S. Lynch Jr., International Longshoremen's Association, New York, N.Y.
  • Robert Godinez, International Brotherhood of Boilermakers - Iron Ship Builders
  • Timothy J. Podue, International Longshore and Warehouse Union, Long Beach, Calif.

Three members represent safety and health professions:

  • Daniel R. Harrison, American Society of Safety Engineers, Des Plaines, Ill.
  • Amy Sly, Marine Chemist Association, Stonington, Conn.-
  • James R. Thornton, American Industrial Hygiene Association, Newport News, Va.

Three members represent government:

  • Christopher John McMahon, U.S. Department of Transportation, Maritime Administration, Washington, D.C.
  • James A. Rone, Washington State Department of Labor and Industries, Olympia, Wash.
  • Kenneth A. Smith, U.S. Department of Transportation, Coast Guard, Washington, D.C.

One member was appointed by the secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services:

  • LCDR John F. Halpin, MD, MPH, U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health, Washington, D.C.

Please direct general information inquiries about this notice to Amy Wangdahl, director of the Office of Maritime and Agriculture, in the Directorate of Standards and Guidance, at 202-693-2086.

Under the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, employers are responsible for providing safe and healthful workplaces for their employees. OSHA's role is to ensure these conditions for America's working men and women by setting and enforcing standards, and providing training, education, and assistance. For more information, visit


U.S. Labor Department news releases are accessible on the Internet at The information in this release will be made available in alternative format upon request (large print, Braille, audiotape or disc) from the Central Office for Assistive Services and Technology. Please specify which news release when placing your request. Call 202-693-7828 or TTY 202-693-7755.