Department of Labor Logo
OSHA News Release
Region 6

Please note: As of January 20, 2021, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.

Sept. 10, 2015

OSHA says worker safety pays, amputations cost
First Arkansas Amputation Prevention Stand-Down, Sept. 14-29

BENTONVILLE, Ark. - Since Jan. 2015, 46 Arkansas workers have lost fingers, toes, hands and legs due to amputations at work. Amputations are debilitating workplace injuries that often happen when workers must operate mechanical machinery without the proper guards or training.

To educate employers and workers on preventing these injuries, the U.S. Department of Labor's Occupational Safety and Health Administration Little Rock Area Office will launch a 16-day Arkansas Amputation Prevention Stand-Down from Sept. 14-29. Arkansas employers are encouraged to participate in the stand-down by visiting

OSHA, the Arkansas Department of Labor, the University of Texas at Arlington and Northwest Arkansas Community College will host a free stand-down event with activities, demonstrations and training, such as how to use machine guarding equipment properly. The event will take place on Sept. 15 from 1 to 4 p.m. CDT at Northwest Arkansas Community College, Shewmaker Center, Wal-Mart Auditorium, Room B102, 1100 SE Eagle Way in Bentonville.

"No worker should ever have to experience this type of debilitating injury. During the stand-down, we aim to help employers identify and eliminate hazards that could lead to serious harm," said John Hermanson, OSHA's regional administrator in Dallas.

"We're hoping employers and workers will come away from this event with a better understanding of amputation hazards and how to correct them before they cause a permanent, debilitating injury," said Carlos Reynolds, OSHA's area director in Little Rock.

Employers are required to report any amputations and inpatient hospitalizations to OSHA within 24 hours.

To ask questions, obtain compliance assistance, file a complaint, or report amputations, eye loss, workplace hospitalizations, fatalities or situations posing imminent danger to workers, the public should call OSHA's toll-free hotline at 800-321-OSHA (6742) or the agency's Little Rock Area Office at 501-224-1841.

Under the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, employers are responsible for providing safe and healthful workplaces for their employees. OSHA's role is to ensure these conditions for America's working men and women by setting and enforcing standards, and providing training, education and assistance. For more information, visit

# # #

Media Contacts:

Diana Petterson, 972-850-4710,
Juan Rodriguez, 972-850-4709,

Release Number: 15-1754-DAL

U.S. Department of Labor news materials are accessible at The department's Reasonable Accommodation Resource Center converts departmental information and documents into alternative formats, which include Braille and large print. For alternative format requests, please contact the department at (202) 693-7828 (voice) or (800) 877-8339 (federal relay).

*Accessibility Assistance: Contact OSHA's Office of Communications at 202-693-1999 for assistance accessing PDF materials.