Archive Notice - OSHA Archive

NOTICE: This is an OSHA Archive Document, and may no longer represent OSHA Policy. It is presented here as historical content, for research and review purposes only.

Department of Labor Logo
OSHA National News Release

Please note: As of January 20, 2021, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.


National News Release: 11-413-NAT
April 5, 2011
Contact: Diana Petterson Jesse Lawder
Phone: 202-693-1898 202-693-4659


Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis announces appointment of 15 new members
to Maritime Advisory Committee for Occupational Safety and Health
First meeting to be held April 19-20, open to public

WASHINGTON – Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis today announced the appointment of 15 new members to the Maritime Advisory Committee for Occupational Safety and Health, which will hold an open meeting on April 19 and 20 at the U.S. Department of Labor's headquarters in Washington.

Secretary Solis re-established the MACOSH charter in January, and this will be the committee's first meeting. Experts in maritime safety and health, the committee members will serve two-year terms and represent the interests of management, labor, the occupational safety and health professions and government. The meeting will be held at 200 Constitution Ave. NW, Room N-3437 A, B, C; Washington, D.C. 20210, from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. EDT.

A notice about the meeting as well as the new members is in today's Federal Register, which may be viewed at

"The MACOSH committee can now proceed with its important work to advise OSHA in protecting the safety and health of workers in the maritime industry," said Assistant Secretary of Labor for OSHA Dr. David Michaels. "MACOSH meetings provide the public with an opportunity to participate in committee activities on issues related to the safety and health of shipyard, longshoring and marine terminal workers."

The maritime industry has been selected for special attention due to high injury and illness rates and the specialized nature of some occupations. On behalf of Secretary Solis, Michaels may seek advice from the committee on a variety of subjects, which may include updating regulatory requirements; developing guidance and outreach materials tailored to individual sectors of the industry; and other activities to help reduce work-related deaths, injuries and illnesses. The committee may also provide advice in new areas in which OSHA chooses to pursue or expand its maritime programs to address specific needs.

In addition, the committee will advise Michaels on activities in the maritime industry related to priorities set by OSHA, including worker training, education and assistance; setting and enforcing standards; and assurance of safe and healthful working conditions for America's working men and women.

Five members represent management:

  • Christopher John McMahon, U.S. Department of Transportation Maritime Administration,Washington, D.C.
  • Kelly Garber, APL Limited, Seattle, Wash.
  • Donald V. Raffo, General Dynamics, Stonington, Conn.
  • Arthur T. Ross, Texas Terminals L.P., Houston, Texas
  • Karen Conrad, North Pacific Fishing Vessel Owners Association, Seattle, Wash.

Five members represent labor:

  • Michael J. Flynn, International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers, Upper Marlboro, Md.
  • Tim J. Podue, International Longshore and Warehouse Union, Long Beach, Calif.
  • George S. Lynch Jr., International Longshoremen's Association, New York, N.Y.
  • Lesley E. Johnson, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 733, Pascagoula, Miss.
  • Robert Godinez, International Brotherhood of Boilermakers-Iron Ship Builders, National City, Calif.

Two members represent the occupational safety and health professions:

  • James R. Thornton, American Industrial Hygiene Association, Newport News, Va.
  • Philip Dovinh, Sound Testing Inc., Seattle, Wash.

Two members represent government:

  • Kenneth A. Smith, U.S. Coast Guard, Washington, D.C.
  • Charles R. Lemon, Washington State Department of Labor & Industries, Olympia, Wash.

One member was appointed by the secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services:

  • Cheryl Fairfield Estill, National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health, Cincinnati, Ohio

Meetings of the committee, which are open to the public, are held about three times a year and are announced in the Federal Register. General information inquiries should be addressed to Joseph Daddura, director of OSHA's Office of Maritime in the Directorate of Standards and Guidance, at 202-693-2067.

More information on the committee can be found on OSHA's MACOSH page at

Under the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, employers are responsible for providing safe and healthful workplaces for their employees. OSHA's role is to ensure these conditions for America's working men and women by setting and enforcing standards, and providing training, education and assistance. For more information, visit


U.S. Department of Labor news materials are accessible at The information above is available in large print, Braille, audio tape or disc from the COAST office upon request by calling 202-693-7828 or TTY 202-693-7755.