Alert: Due to routine maintenance on the OSHA website, some pages are temporarily unavailable.
To file a complaint with OSHA or to ask a safety and health question, call 1-800-321-6742 (OSHA).

General Information and Registration

"Learn about issues such as ergonomics programs developed with worker input; hazard anlysis, prevention, and control; medical management, manual and materials handling; tool design or use; office work station design or use; and production or assembly line organization."

There is a $75 registration fee to attend the conference. There will be a welcoming reception on Wednesday, September 8th from 6-8 p.m. in the Archives Room at the George Meany Center, 10000 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD. For directions, call 301-431-6400. The conference can award 1.0 IH CM point and .5 academic credits (there will be a $15 fee for the academic credits).

For more information, contact Trish Quinn at 202-962-8494 or

Best Practices in Ergonomics
George Meany Center for Labor Studies, Sept. 8-9, 1999


Wed. Sept. 8
6:00 p.m. Welcoming Reception
Archives Room, The George Meany Center
Thurs. Sept. 9
7:30 a.m. (Auditorium) Registration and Coffee
8:30 a.m. (Auditorium) Welcome: Susan J. Schurman, Executive Director, GMC
Opening Remarks: Robert J. Pleasure, Executive Director, CPWR Auditorium Paul Becker, Safety & Health Extension, WVU OSHA Region III
9:00 a.m. (Auditorium) Keynote: Charles N. Jeffress, Assistant Secretary, DOL/OSHA
Peg Seminario, AFL-CIO
10:00 a.m. Break
10:15 a.m.(Auditorium) Panel Discussion: Participatory Approaches to Solving Ergonomic Problems
Moderator: Michael McCann, CPWR
OSHA: Graciella Perez, OSHA
Management: Bradley Joseph, Ford Motor Co.
Consultant: Sheree Gibson, Ergonomics Applications
Union: Scott Schneider, Laborer's Union
(this panel will end by 11:15 to allow time to get to workshops)

11:20 a.m. Workshops: Success Stories Focusing on Work Exposures
Manual and Materials Handling in Construction
Room 1
Moderator: Scott Schneider, CIH
Billy Gibbons, University of Oregon
Manual and Materials Handling in General Industry and Shipbuilding
Room 2
Moderator: Scott Madar, International Brotherhood of Teamsters
Zack Koutsandreas, Ergowork Consulting (firefighting)
Jim McGlothlin, PhD, Purdue University (shipbuilding)
Tool Use
Moderator: Michael McCann, CPWR
George Segur, CWA & John Quinlan, Bell Atlantic
Phil Jacobs, Jacobs Consulting
Awwad Dababneh, NIOSH
Room D
Office Computer Ergonomics
Moderator: David LeGrande, CWA
Larkie Gildersleeve, Newspaper Guild
Lawrence Schleifer, PhD, Internal Revenue Service
12:30 p.m. Lunch (Dining Hall)
2:00 p.m. Workshops: Practical Solutions/Best Practices Focusing on Program Elements
Developing a Participatory Ergonomics Program, John Rosecrance, PhD, University of Iowa
Room 2
Hazard Analysis, Prevention, and Control, Suzanne Rodgers, PhD
Room D
Medical Management, Laura Welch, MD, Washington Hospital Center
Room 1
Training and Education, Susan Moir, University of Massachusetts, Lowell
3:00 p.m. Break
3:20 p.m.
(Auditorium )
Closing Plenary
Moderator: Jack Finklea, MD
Workshop Reports
Summation: Jim Miller, OTI
4:30 p.m. Adjourn
*Agenda may change slightly.